Media Misdirection and the Syria Crisis

markingmyspot

Living in comfortable south central Ontario for many years, I implicitly believed most of what I heard from the media. Occasionally I wondered about some alarmist reports, but mostly I thought what they said was accurate. I went to a talk in Orillia about 10 years ago by a CBC radio host – it might have been Michael Enright, I’m not sure. He was talking about media accuracy. That was an eye-opener for me.

Some years later, in search of adventure and change, I moved from my safe, humdrum world to Kuwait. I was amazed at how peaceful this world is. I spoke to people who had lived in Iraq. I spoke to people who had been to Afghanistan. When I was in my safe world, the media had led me to believe that those countries were extremely dangerous. One Canadian woman I spoke to had actually traveled through a…

View original post 904 more words

Leave a Reply

